The annual varsity match against the Oxford Dark Blues is both the focal point and the highlight of the season. The two rival men’s teams also battle annually for the right to hoist the Patton Cup, named after Major B.M. ‘Peter’ Patton, the founder and first President of the British Ice Hockey Association. There are also three trophies awarded to individual players after the match. The overall man of the match is awarded the Willie Turner Plate and the men of the match for Cambridge and Oxford are awarded the Cawthra Trophy and Pearson Cup respectively.